The Indian Premier League 2020

Ties between parties put leaders on the warpath

Published Apr 7, 2014, 10:56 am IST
Updated Apr 8, 2019, 3:14 am IST
BJP leaders cry hoarse over Naidu's entry in NDA
Hyderabad: With the division of the state creating alliances and defections, there is much heartburning in several parties about the choice of candidates, particularly in the Telugu Desam, BJP and the Congress.
Party workers staged dharnas at their respective offices in Hyderabad on Sunday. The alliance of the TD and the BJP has led to resignations and protests by party workers and those aspiring for tickets in both parties. The Congress and the CPI seat adjustment has also led to resignations.
The seat allocation between the TD and the BJP has not been officially announced yet, but the TD and the BJP workers have come to know what is afoot.
TD workers and leaders from Vijayawada staged a dharna at TD chief N. Chandrababu Naidu’s residence, demanding that the Vijayawada Central seat not be allotted to the BJP, but should go to Mr Boda Uma Maheswar Rao. They carried placards declaring ‘TD will win Vijayawada Central seat, there is a limit to sacrifice’.
TD leaders admitted that it would be difficult to convince the aspirants in both the TD and the BJP. Even before the official announcement of a pre-poll alliance was made, TD workers of Greater Hyderabad were in an uproar and sent president Talasani Srinivas Yadav to Mr Naidu’s residence with an ultimatum that they would not support BJP candidates in the city and surrounding areas.
The BJP also felt the heat with party workers from the city obstructing Mr Javadekar’s vehicle at the party office. “I stayed back to pacify the cadres,” Mr Kishan Reddy said regarding why he skipped the major announcement. Sources, however, said that he was still unhappy over the alliance.
The situation was no different in Seemandhra where former minister Kodela Siva Prasada Rao insisted that he would contest from Narasaraopet, which would go to the BJP. Party cadres protested in several places including Vijayawada, Anantapur and Nellore.
Parliament seats BJP will be contesting from:
In Seemandhra: Araku, Visakhapatnam, Narsapuram, Tirupati and Rajampet. 
In Telangana: Karimnagar, Nizamabad, Warangal, Medak, Zaheerabad, Secunderabad, Mahabubnagar and Bhongir
Assembly seats in Telangana where a broader understanding has been reached:
Manchiryal, Chennur, Adilabad, Muthole, Nizamabad, Yellareddy, Nizamabad (Urban), Karimnagar, Vemulawada, Korutla, Siricilla, Ramagundam, Dharmapuri, Husnabad, Sangareddy, Dubbaka, Warangal East and West, Janagon, Bhupalapalli, Uppal, Malkajgiri, Nagarkurnool, Kalwakurthi, Shadnagar, Mahabubnagar, Munugodu, Alair, Pinapaka, Amberpet, Musheerabad, Goshamahal, Karwan, Khairatabad, Malakpet
Assembly seats in Andhra Pradesh, which are likely to go to the BJP
Gajapathinagaram, Paderu, Narasannapet, Visakhapatnam (North), Rajahmundry, Razole, Tadepalligudem, Vijayawada (Central), Narasaraopet, Nellore (Rural), Santhanutalapadu, Madanapalle, Anantapur, Kadapa and Rajampet.


Location: Andhra Pradesh