Sri Lanka national players get pay hike in new contracts

Published Feb 28, 2014, 6:28 pm IST
Updated Mar 19, 2019, 10:16 am IST
SLC said players were entitled to the raise based on Sri Lanka's ICC rankings.

Colombo: Sri Lanka Cricket, which had a bitter dispute with its players over payments in 2013, has announced a seven per cent hike for them across all categories in its latest list of contracts issued here.

The National Selection Committee on Thursday announced the names of 17 contracted players for the year 2014-15. They belong to four categories.


In addition, three players -- Prasanna Jayawardena, Tillakaratne Dilshan and Lasith Malinga -- have been placed on a special category. The senior players -- Kumar Sangakkara, Mahela Jayawardene, Nuwan Kulasekara, Angelo Mathews, Rangana Herath and Dinesh Chandimal -- are in the top category. Chandimal, the T20 captain, has won a promotion from category 2.

In the category 2 are Lahiru Thirimanne and Ajantha Mendis. Kusal Janith Perera, the opening batsman who scored his maiden ODI century last week in Bangladesh has been promoted to category 3 joining Thisara Perera the only other player to be listed under 3. In category 4 are Shaminda Eranga, Sachithra Senenayake, Kaushal Silva and Suranga Lakmal. Silva, the opening batsman who had a memorable series against Bangladesh, has won a promotion from the provincial category.


Further explaining the increases, the SLC said players were entitled to the raise based on Sri Lanka's ICC rankings. Since Sri Lanka has been ranked fifth in ODIs, the players are entitled for a two per cent increase and being ranked as the top team in the T20 format, the players are entitled to an increase of five per cent.

The players will not be entitled for an increment for the Test category as Sri Lanka is ranked below the fifth position. Further, there will be incentives for individual performances which will be presented as a one off bonus payment to the top players.


The players who received the bonuses are Kumar Sangakkara (Test batting) Rangana Herath (Test bowling), Kumar Sangakkara and Dilshan (ODI batting) Rangana Herath (ODI bowling) Ajantha Mendis and Nuwan Kulasekara (Twenty20 bowling.)