Rahil wins VW Polo Cup

Chennai: Mumbai driver Rahil Noorani clinched the Volkswagen Polo R Cup after a podium finish in Race 3 at the Buddh International Circuit here on Sunday . Pune's Gaurav Mehta won an action filled Race 2 to win his first ever race in a competitive series.

South African Jeffrey Kruger returned to the top step of the podium in Race 3 to end the season on a high.

Race 2 was red-flagged after young driver Samarth Jaiswal crashed with the car rolling multiple times.
Jaiswal walked away unhurt.

“Today happens to be my birthday and this is the best gift I could have given to myself. It was a very emotional moment for me. This is my third attempt and previous two times I missed out by couple of points so this is very special and I am third time lucky. The engineers, mechanics and entire Volkswagen team are responsible for this so a big thank you to all of them,” said Noorani. Noorani has been offered a seat for the JK Tyre FB 02 in 2014 and a guest drive at the 2014 Scirocco R-Cup.

Kruger was named the Star of Polo R Cup and has been offered a guest drive at the 2014 Golf R Cup in Europe. Yatin Magu, who won in the junior category, has been offered a fully sponsored seat for next season’s Polo R Cup.

In the Ultima Queens Cup featuring top lady drivers from Europe, Dutch Sheila Verschuur stole the show in both the races by wining by big margins.



( Source : dc )
Next Story