Related Stories

Rayala Telangana finds no takers

Published Dec 2, 2013, 1:08 pm IST
Updated Mar 18, 2019, 9:27 pm IST
Picture for representational purpose only.
 Picture for representational purpose only.
Hyderabad: The BJP and the TRS made it clear that they will not support the creation of Rayala-Telangana and will only back the T-Bill if it confines itself to the 10 districts of Telangana with Hyderabad as capital.
Reacting to media reports that the Centre is contemplating the creation of Rayala-Telangana with two additional districts, BJP state president G. Kishan Reddy said his party will not support the proposal. 
When the Rayalaseema Parirakshana Samiti president, Byreddy Rajasekhara Reddy met Kishan Reddy and appraised him about the distinctive culture of the Rayalaseema, the BJP leader said his party will not compromise on its stand on Telangana. 
The Congress leadership is trying to hoodwink pro-Telangana parties as well as the people of the region by bringing in the Rayala-Telangana proposal, ostensibly with the support of MIM, he said. “We will only support Telangana and not Rayala-Telangana,” he said.
The TRS Legislature Party leader Etela Rajender said that if the Centre brings in the T Bill with either Hyderabad as Union Territory or includes two Rayalaseema districts, his party will oppose the decision tooth and nail. 
“If those districts are included how can we tell people that we have achieved what we wanted?” Etela asked.
Senior TD leader and former minister K.E. Krishnamurthy also rejected the proposal. He said those owning industries and private buses were interested in Rayala-Telangana to protect their properties. 
He said there is no justification to split four Rayalaseema districts that enjoy a distinct common culture.
Location: Andhra Pradesh


More From Politics