Elections 2014: Polls in Telangana on April 30, Seemandhra on May 7

Published Mar 6, 2014, 6:51 am IST
Updated Jan 10, 2016, 8:38 am IST
Elections in undivided AP; results on May 16; 9-phase Lok Sabha poll from April 7 to May 12

Hyderabad / New Delhi: Ending speculation about Assembly elections in the wake of the state’s division, the Election Commission on Wednesday announced the election schedule for the unified state Assembly. Elections will be held in two phases, on April 30 and May 7 along with the Lok Sabha elections.

All the 17 Lok Sabha and 119 Assembly segments in 10 districts of Telangana, that will form the new state, will go to the polls in the first phase. Elections for 25 Lok Sabha and 175 Assembly constituencies in 13 districts of the residuary state of Andhra Pradesh will be held in the second phase.

These will be part of the elections to the 16th Lok Sabha, to be held in the longest span of polling days in Independent India, from April 7 to May 12 on nine days, to let an estimated 814 million voters to exercise their franchise. Counting for all the 543 constituencies will be held on May 16. Apart from the split state of Andhra Pradesh, elections to Odisha and Sikkim Assemblies will also be held simultaneously.

Location: Andhra Pradesh