Shimoga set for a Bangarappa storm if brothers cross swords

Published Jan 16, 2014, 6:37 pm IST
Updated Jan 20, 2016, 3:22 pm IST
Kumar Bangarappa keen on fighting on Congress ticket.
Late S. Bangarappa with his wife and sons Kumar and Madhu Bangarappa
 Late S. Bangarappa with his wife and sons Kumar and Madhu Bangarappa

Bangalore: It all began with former minister, Kumar Bangarappa turning against his father and contesting the election from Sorab against his brother, Madhu Bangarappa.

The year was 2004. While he won that time round, both brothers lost the elections in 2008.  But  in 2013,  Madhu Bangarappa had his revenge, defeating his elder brother on a  JD(S) ticket.

The family fight for the legacy of  former CM and  backward class leader, the late S. Bangarappa is likely to continue in the coming Lok Sabha elections  with the politically divided members expected to take on each other in the Shimoga parliamentary constituency.

While Kumar Bangarappa is hoping to contest from Shimoga on a Congress ticket, the JD(S) has left the Bangarappa family members to decide which of them will contest as its candidate.

Madhu Bangarappa says all will be disclosed later this month. “My mother,  (Shakunthala Bangarappa) and my two sisters (Geetha Shivaraj Kumar and  Sujatha) will take a collective decision on which one of us should contest the election,''he adds, admitting that at stake is more than a victory in the poll.

“It  is not merely about winning a parliamentary seat and sitting in Delhi for a term or so. It is the legacy of  Bangarappaji that we want to continue. His ideology and commitment must be taken forward,'' he  says, asserting, “My father was a people's leader and people still remember him. Even if the Congress decides to field my brother, people will vote for the Bangarappa legacy.''

Kumar Bangarappa however maintains the contest has nothing to do with family rivalry. 

“It is a fight of ideologies, '' he contends , claiming that the  JD(S) is no threat to the Congress in Shimoga. “During the last parliamentary election, they did not even field a candidate. They may have won three Assembly seats later, but I feel the fight will be between  Congress and BJP,'' he insists.

Location: Karnataka